Stories
Slash Boxes
Comments

SoylentNews is people

SoylentNews is powered by your submissions, so send in your scoop. Only 15 submissions in the queue.
posted by martyb on Saturday May 21 2016, @03:17PM   Printer-friendly
from the when-'no'-means-'yes' dept.

Two Soylentils wrote with a caution about a new strategy in Microsoft's playbook to get people to upgrade to Windows 10.

If you Click on the Red "X", You're Getting the Windows 10 Upgrade

That pesky Windows 10 forceware box...

This notification means your Windows 10 upgrade will occur at the time indicated, unless you select either Upgrade now or "Click here to change upgrade schedule or cancel scheduled upgrade". If you click on OK or on the red "X", you're all set for the upgrade and there is nothing further to do.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3095675

New Windows 10 Nag Screen May Trick 7, 8.x Users

Windows 7 or 8.x users that want or need to hold on to their current operating systems may be in for a very unpleasant surprise. Microsoft has essentially changed their Windows 10 update notification from a very pushy "opt-in" to an "opt-out". The new notification automatically schedules a time to receive Windows 10. Clicking the "X", as many have gotten used to, no longer prevents installation. Those that do not pay close attention to this new notification may inadvertently wind up with Windows 10 even if they did not want it. Very sneaky stuff.

Microsoft has published an offical article describing the changes.


Original Submission #1Original Submission #2

 
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.
Display Options Threshold/Breakthrough Mark All as Read Mark All as Unread
The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
  • (Score: 3, Insightful) by inertnet on Saturday May 21 2016, @07:28PM

    by inertnet (4071) on Saturday May 21 2016, @07:28PM (#349213) Journal

    I've lost a lot of time lately to people who claimed they'd never consented to Windows 10 but got it like a virus anyway. There's a one month roll back option, but you have to use the new W10 full screen settings application instead of the one you're used to to find it:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/lo-la/windows-10/going-back-to-windows-7-or-windows-81 [microsoft.com]

    If it’s been less than a month since you upgraded to Windows 10, you can go back to your previous version of Windows by going to Settings > Update & security > Recovery and selecting either Go back to Windows 7 or Go back to Windows 8.1. This won't affect your personal files, but it will remove any apps you installed after the upgrade to Windows 10

    Starting Score:    1  point
    Moderation   +1  
       Insightful=1, Total=1
    Extra 'Insightful' Modifier   0  
    Karma-Bonus Modifier   +1  

    Total Score:   3