Stories
Slash Boxes
Comments

SoylentNews is people

SoylentNews is powered by your submissions, so send in your scoop. Only 19 submissions in the queue.
posted by martyb on Saturday May 21 2016, @03:17PM   Printer-friendly
from the when-'no'-means-'yes' dept.

Two Soylentils wrote with a caution about a new strategy in Microsoft's playbook to get people to upgrade to Windows 10.

If you Click on the Red "X", You're Getting the Windows 10 Upgrade

That pesky Windows 10 forceware box...

This notification means your Windows 10 upgrade will occur at the time indicated, unless you select either Upgrade now or "Click here to change upgrade schedule or cancel scheduled upgrade". If you click on OK or on the red "X", you're all set for the upgrade and there is nothing further to do.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3095675

New Windows 10 Nag Screen May Trick 7, 8.x Users

Windows 7 or 8.x users that want or need to hold on to their current operating systems may be in for a very unpleasant surprise. Microsoft has essentially changed their Windows 10 update notification from a very pushy "opt-in" to an "opt-out". The new notification automatically schedules a time to receive Windows 10. Clicking the "X", as many have gotten used to, no longer prevents installation. Those that do not pay close attention to this new notification may inadvertently wind up with Windows 10 even if they did not want it. Very sneaky stuff.

Microsoft has published an offical article describing the changes.


Original Submission #1Original Submission #2

 
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.
Display Options Threshold/Breakthrough Mark All as Read Mark All as Unread
The Fine Print: The following comments are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.
  • (Score: 0) by Anonymous Coward on Sunday May 22 2016, @09:14PM

    by Anonymous Coward on Sunday May 22 2016, @09:14PM (#349684)

    This was one of my methods to block updates - use NTFS permissions to Deny write/delete/change-permission access to those folders and it's contents to Everyone. As you say, if even Windows processes can ignore these settings, then it may point to a serious hole in the NTFS drivers.

    I say "was", since this was before I gave GWX control panel a try quite a while back. Certainly possible MS may get the installer to reset the permissions on the folders these days though, seeing as the installer runs at such high privileges.

    The program option is always good for non-technical folk though, as long as you know what it is doing. Hard to say if that applies to an up-to-date patched copy of Windows these days.